Board of Directors

AAJA is led by its national Board of Directors with the counsel of its Advisory Board.

The 11-member board is composed of AAJA’s six national officers plus five members elected from the Advisory Board.

The board ensures AAJA is fulfilling its mission, meeting the needs of its members and operating legally, effectively, and efficiently.


Michelle Lee
Political Enterprise and
Accountability Reporter,
The Washington Post

Senior Vice President

Nicole Dungca
Investigative Reporter,
The Washington Post

Vice President of Journalism Programs

Kris Vera-Phillips
Adjunct Professor & PhD Student,
Cronkite School of Journalist

Vice President Of Civic Engagement

Pia Sarkar, 2019-2020 term
Business Editor, Associated Press

Julia B. Chan, VP elect 2021-2022
Managing Editor, Digital, KQED News

Vice President of Finance

Ted Han, 2019-2020 term
Product Manager, Mozilla

Jin Ding, VP elect 2021-2022
Program Manager, International
Women’s Media Foundation

Vice President of Communications

Shirley Qiu
Audience Engagement Strategist
American Press Institute

Small/Medium Chapter Representative

Bobby Caina Calvan
Reporter, Associated Press

Small/Medium Chapter Representative

Bethany Ao
Reporter, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Large Chapter Representative

Henry Fuhrmann
Retired Assistant Managing
Editor, Los Angeles Times

At-Large Chapter Representative

Elizabeth Yuan
Publishing Editor,
The Wall Street Journal

At-Large Chapter Representatives

Yuri Nagano
Editor, Bloomberg Industry

Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board is comprised of Chapter Board Representatives who are elected by their local members.

The Advisory Board advises the Board of Directors to ensure chapter interests are represented.

Aric Johnson
Recruiter & Adviser, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University

Oanh Ha
Senior Reporter, Bloomberg

Willoughby Mariano
Reporter, Investigative Team
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Grace Wong
Reporter, The Chicago Tribune

Moni Basu
Professor, University of Florida College
of Journalism and Communications


Wes Nakama
Assistant Director of Information,
Hawai’i High School Athletic Association

Los Angeles
Anh Do
Reporter, The Los Angeles Times
Hibah Samad
Anchor/Reporter, Newsbreak Live

Dorothy Hernandez
Writer, City of Detroit

Nancy Yang
Digital Producer, Minnesota Public Radio

New England
Daigo Fujiwara
Newsroom Web Developer, WBUR

New York
Emily Tan
Freelance Journalist & Photographer